I Auditioned for Star Wars Episode 7

Yup. That’s right! This guy auditioned for an upcoming role in the new Star Wars films. Why? Why the hell not??!!

It was totally out of the blue, mind you I do tend to stay on top of all-things Star Wars related- Anyways, it was all thanks to this tweet:

Thankfully I was at the right place and at the right time, and I instantly signed up to the respected casting website based in the UK.

First thought: the casting calls were only open to on-location auditions and thousands of miles away. But then I read the fine print… OPEN CASTING!!

I grew up with Star Wars and recall watching the original trilogy on a weekly basis with my father. I’ve continued to watch this series throughout my years as it’s close to the heart in a sense. This was a once in a lifetime chance to say, “Hey, I auditioned for the freakin’ Star Wars movies!”. Regardless of the outcome, it’s something I’m weirdly proud of doing and I’m so glad I did it. 🙂

The script has been leaked online here if you want to take a gander. I was obviously auditioning for the role of Thomas, who after a bit of fan-boy research, I’ve come to believe is Jacen Solo; Han Solo’s son. EEK! Although it’s just speculation, this would be a really cool storyline to see on the big screen, (albeit very similar to how Darth Vader was established…)

Anyways, in the end- I had a good friend of mine help me with the audition tape posing as Rachel. I’d post the video here but we were advised not to place the videos online. It’s hidden on youtube currently but let me know if you want to see it- otherwise I’ll make it public once they announce who ‘Thomas’ and ‘Rachel’ are going to be.

This was a tremendous experience that I won’t soon forget- and like I said, regardless of the outcome- I auditioned for STAR WARS! Like the great Yoda once said:

Do or do not, there is no try-

Master_Yoda

Leave a Reply

